Ain’t Easy Bein Kesey

"I was too young to be a beatnik, and too old to be a hippie"

Kerouac traveled far, but I went FURTHER.

Somewhere along the way I tripped on a school bus

and was sent tumbling merrily across America.

Hysteria.

Just let the Kool-Aid carry ya.

 

Jerry and I ran some tests,

and even the Angels turned on

tuned in

dropped out:

We got help from the man with the guru grin

who was “on the outside looking in”

and coined that magick mantra.

 

Chief Broom opened my Demon Box

and I flew over the cuckoo clocks

all the way to Oregon

where Leland Stamper told me to

WATCH OUT!

WATCH OUT!

WATCH OUT!

 

Maybe I should have taken Leland’s advice.

Does blotter burn the brain??

 

A lysergic chisel and a mind made of wood

has fashioned me more inspired/less understood.

 

From where I once stood, has it been too high of a climb?

I’m not too sure

“I been away a long time.”

About cognifeeder

My name is Josh. I like to think about things. I also like to write (albeit, “type” might be a more appropriate verb). Sometimes, I can muster these two likes into an enthralling synergy of self-expression. Sometimes not. Cognifeeder was a word I made up in this poem. To me, a “Cognifeeder” is any bit of learned information. A Cognifeeder is a piece of culture, something learned that contributes to one's map of reality. The world is littered with Cognifeeders. Take them lightly. When I’m not blogging, I run Sonata, a digital marketing and SEO agency based in Aledo, Texas.

Posted on March 30, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Okay, this is one of my favrites. In fact, it’s the title that got me to read it right away. And I got the reference to all of the players (or, should i say; “Pransters”), except Leland Stamper, i remember the name, and of course remember the quote: WATCH OUT, but what else was he famous for?

    And BTW – blotter might burn the brian, but nothing like windowpain. In fact, maybe you should change it to that. After all; “windowpain” rymes with “brain”.

    Yours Truly,
    guess who……

  2. Thanks Chris for stopping by my blog, glad you liked my first Haiku post.

  3. Nice tribute for old ken. I think Hunter S Thompson once said of him, “Kesey was never happy unless he was going so fast his lips were flapping in the wind.”
    and remember, “entropy is only a problem in a closed system”
    lest we forget.

    • “entropy is only a problem in a closed system” is a great quote! But what’s wrong with some good ol’ disorder every now and then? If the telephone rings today… water it.

  4. A great read! I’m now a follower. Like your style and thought lines. Cheers.

  5. Awesome piece about an even better subject!

  6. Somewhere along the way I tripped on a school bus

    and was sent tumbling merrily across America.

Leave a Reply

