“Reality is the Original Rorschach”*

If perception is organized relatively

and one’s perception presupposes their reality,

then it’s safe to say, to a certain degree,

that we’re locked in cages yet still remain free.

It’s thoughts like these, quintessentially, that

make me feel like Schrödinger’s cat;

a placebo of paradox to dissolve all your facts

leaves you starved by semantics yet philosophically fat.

*Malaclypse the Younger

About cognifeeder

My name is Josh. I like to think about things. I also like to write (albeit, “type” might be a more appropriate verb). Sometimes, I can muster these two likes into an enthralling synergy of self-expression. Sometimes not. Cognifeeder was a word I made up in this poem. To me, a “Cognifeeder” is any bit of learned information. A Cognifeeder is a piece of culture, something learned that contributes to one's map of reality. The world is littered with Cognifeeders. Take them lightly. When I’m not blogging, I run Sonata, a digital marketing and SEO agency based in Aledo, Texas.

Posted on March 20, 2012, in poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I really enjoyed this 🙂 wonderful work, do you have a book I could purchase?

    • Thank you very much Aimee! I don’t have a book, but I can print out, staple together and send you all my blog posts for no charge… I’m only joking, but if I ever publish I’ll let you know.

  2. This poem isn’t something that you can just read and forget; it’s a complex thing to think about! Rad poem

  3. good work– It’s appreciated greatly

  4. Really cleverly written poem; quantum physics is way above this reader’s pay grade…

    • Thank you Lindy! I usually post new writings on here, but during bouts of creativity drought I will post an old one, such as this. This is one of my favorites too, and I figured I couldn’t keep it off the blog since it won first place in my college’s poetry contest.

      I thought about describing in this response what I intended by the Schrödinger’s cat allusion, but since a personal theme in this poem focuses on the limits of language, I should just leave it open for interpretation. I want to gratefully thank you for all of your likes, comments and support on this blog. It means a lot to see frequent viewers coming back for more, so to that end, I much appreciate it.

  5. P.S. Must add, “Reality is the Original Rorschach” is more than ‘Liked’ and if you ever find the answer to the Big Secret without having to die first, please disclose…

  6. The Principia Discordia was a nice touch. Mythos, semiotics, and more. Again, an outstanding piece of work leaps off your post’s electric pages.

    J.

  7. I always wanted to put Schroedingers Cat and Maxwells Demon into Sylvia Plaths bell jar and let them fight it out

Leave a Reply

