Falling Action

Vonnegut’s interpretation of a story structure

Kurt Vonnegut’s description of nearly every story ever written is quite accurate. The circumstances of the protagonist will turn for the worse, if they haven’t started there, but will eventually resolve into happiness, bliss, good fortune, etc. I finished a poem today that I’ve been piecing together for about a month. Its story involves a protagonist that only experiences good, happy things. This is boring. To spare you of the dull, drab plot details I’ve started the poem at the end of the story. Its theme is slightly more biologically-instinctive-cravings-to-meet-needs-of-reproductive-system-oriented than what I’m used to writing, but so it goes.

Falling Action

Commence with the climax:

Ready…

Set…

“mmmm”

 

Slowly growing limp,

Growing limp,

Shrinking firmness:

 

Bed-backed and blissful,

Woven wicker legs  t r a d e  t o e s ,

Fingertips slide in sync,

Skin-skating over icewhite rink,

Emboss cryptic codes across chest.

 

What was antic, yet romantic,

Stripped our sayings of semantics;

Mouths become momentum

For no reason but rhythm.

 

Sweatdamp cheeks caressed

By salty touch of breath,

Gently tugs reins of awareness –

From gallop, to prance, to stride, to graze…

…Graze the

open pastures of

 neck-up. Peck up

behind earrings

she’s wearing;

lost in lea

of

hair

str-

ing.

 

 

the languid night grips language in throats –

and burning bedside candles

juxtapose

our speechless

sable

sleep.

About cognifeeder

My name is Josh. I like to think about things. I also like to write (albeit, “type” might be a more appropriate verb). Sometimes, I can muster these two likes into an enthralling synergy of self-expression. Sometimes not. Cognifeeder was a word I made up in this poem. To me, a “Cognifeeder” is any bit of learned information. A Cognifeeder is a piece of culture, something learned that contributes to one's map of reality. The world is littered with Cognifeeders. Take them lightly. When I’m not blogging, I run Sonata, a digital marketing and SEO agency based in Aledo, Texas.

Posted on February 8, 2012, in poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Good word, “cognifeeder”…

  2. Incidentally, thanks for reading & liking my poem, “Groovy Gift”…

  3. Listen…..Billy Pilgrim has come un-stuck in time.

    Bump, bump, bump…..down the funny stairs.

  4. You need a like button. 🙂

  5. I like that you don’t add any unnecessary diction to fancy everything up. It is simple, yet complex, but not so complex. Brilliant!

    ~Raina

  6. I love “languid night grips language.” The turn of the language is fresh. Unexpected. Poetic.

  7. Vonnegut’s simplification of our craft, i believe is not only chaotic, but detrimental to the reader and the writer. the handshake between the two later is what makes a suscesful scientific experiment in Literature. a metaphor to consider: it allows a guy like Mr. Quintin Tarantino to blow our mind’s by simply exploiting that “line-walking” linear movement of fiction–no matter how many rises and falls. i do however, very much enjoy the poetry afterward. and so as not to bitch without a substitute batter here’s my pinch hitter: a circle. thinking in a cycle allows one to link things at any point along time, while maintaining a 3-D view and a completing any promises made early by coming full circle. but all of this comes from a man that can not locate the “like” on your entries as i would have selected the option several times so far.

    • I agree that Vonnegut’s analysis is somewhat short sighted, though I do think that it constitutes a large majority of literature, some works are obviously excluded. I appreciate your thoughtful comments. Furthermore, I have found problems with the “like” option on others’ pages as well. I think that if you click on the title of the entry it will refresh in a new page that will give you the “like” option. I’m not computer literate enough to make the navigation of my sight any easier, but it is something I need to look into.
      Thanks again for the comment-
      Josh

  8. Avenging Vonnegut… nice.

Leave a Reply

