Melting Perspective

Melting Perspective

First things first: If you have an eclectic taste for music, follow this link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_0yhbvxT6TE. They’re called Piccola Orchestra Gagarin, and I have trouble describing their style. They are sort of experimental chamber music… only not really… but kind of. When you’re done, as a suggestion, listen to Herbie Hancock’s key solo at the end of “Sly”. His notes rattle off like a ballerina falling down the stairs, only to be brought back to her feet and then hurtled by these powerful Oriental sounding chords at the end.

Second things second: I pulled the title of my blog, “cognifeeder,” from a poem I wrote a while ago, and I thought that I should post it. The poem has to do with how words feed our brain by creating concepts, concepts create things, and the qualities of these things are completely dependent on the control of our words. Here is that poem:

This Poem Exists

Everything exists,

In some way,

On some level.

Chair, desk,

Right, left,

Writings, words,

Scribbled, slurred,

The bizarre, the odd,

And even the gods.

 

Everything.

 

Well then,

What is a chair

Or a god?

:

A chair provides comfort

After too much walking.

A god provides comfort

After too much talking.

THEYEXISTBECAUSEWEDOTHEYEXISTBECAUSEWEDOTHEYEXISTBECAUSEWEDOTHEYEXISTBECAUSEWE

They are but chronometers,

Glass geared cognifeeders,

Hung on bent nails,

High above a hard,

Unforgiving ground.

 

About cognifeeder

My name is Josh. I like to think about things. I also like to write (albeit, “type” might be a more appropriate verb). Sometimes, I can muster these two likes into an enthralling synergy of self-expression. Sometimes not. Cognifeeder was a word I made up in this poem. To me, a “Cognifeeder” is any bit of learned information. A Cognifeeder is a piece of culture, something learned that contributes to one's map of reality. The world is littered with Cognifeeders. Take them lightly. When I’m not blogging, I run Sonata, a digital marketing and SEO agency based in Aledo, Texas.

Posted on January 28, 2012, in music, poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Piccola Orchestra Gagarin is cool. Like Lark’s Tung revisited. Loved reading the Cognifeeder poem again. I thought i recognized the name of this blog from something of yours.

    Happy day! Looking forward to Tully!

  2. reading this piece has been a pleasure. a very refreshing one for me as i have not read poetry of this caliber but on the rarest of instances. i am quite poetry illiterate though your rhyme and concept both give the reader the highly sought rarest of rewards: true surprise oh and the herbie hancock endorsement is spot on.

Leave a Reply

